I’ve been on a house cleaning binge

HI there Hope you all had a fantastic Christmas. We had a very laid back day this year and it felt really nice to just enjoy the day. We opened gifts on Christmas eve so Jereme and Alice could come over from Urbana and Jordan, Melissa and the kiddos were able to join us have the next morning at their home with the kids and then head up north to Melissa’s parents. We had nice weather and that made all the travel safe. Heather didnt get to come over but we spent the evening with her the day before and she is coming over for New Years and Maybe Jared too.She has gotten a job at the Movie theatre and I think that will help get her into a better living arrangement. By this time next week Jereme will be in Boston Meeting Alice’s Father He is very serious about this realtionship and wants to make a good impression.
We did get a bit of snow a few days ago that only lasted into the afternoon before it was all melted away a real bummer for the kids 😦 I spent my days off taking down the trees and getting the house rearranged while no little people were underfoot. I used my new tiny craft sewing machine to make a card so I feel like I got something accomplished craft wise.I really need to get my self in gear and upload my photos to the blog but have been to lazy to mess with it. The kids were really excited to get back with us today and my kids enjoyed having them here to play with so I took advantage of the help keeping an eye on them and got my kitchen pretty much rearranged kinda needed a different look in here I feel a bit stir crazy looking at the same thing all the time.I still need Brian to pull out my stove so I can get it cleaned good from the milk spill May not be as icky as I think but after the mouse and ant problems of the past year I dont want to take any chances. We have made it through without any major sickness this holiday and for that I am thankful. I should keep my mouth shut because when I brag it always comes back to get me πŸ™‚ LOL I should go get my shower and go to bed the kids will be here early in the morning and I will want to be rested up πŸ™‚ Hope to hear about your holiday adventures soon. Good night friends

Hugs and love ,
Shelly

2 thoughts on “I’ve been on a house cleaning binge

  1. So glad you had a good Christmas. We have had no snow – well a few flakes only – for which I am most grateful. Snow is not a standard feature down here in the mid south of the country and it is not at all welcome and so far we have had relatively mild weather albeit wet and exceptionally windy at times.
    Here in the UK it is traditional to keep the Christmas tree and decorations up until 6th January (12th day of Christmas) but I quite often take it all down soon after New Year so I can get the furniture back into place πŸ™‚
    We always encourage our children, once they have children of their own, to stay in their own homes and create their own Christmas traditions for the children. I always think it sad that grandchildren spend every Christmas at one set of grandparents or another and have no memories of Christmas in their own homes. Just our way of thinking! There is always a family get together on the day after Boxing Day – again our way of thinking is that the children get so excited about Christmas and tired that they don’t get chance to examine and play with all their presents so Boxing Day is a time for that with a get together to look forward to for the next day!
    Santa brought me some lovely goodies including books and craft items – he quite often forgets that I craft and love books πŸ™‚ I am now the proud owner of a Fiskars trimmer – no more wobbly lines – items to alter, vouchers to a craft shop, an ornate bird cage, a Tatty Ted ( I collect those) and a brand new cuddly dressing gown πŸ™‚ A very happy bunny here!

    A very happy, healthy and wealthy New Year πŸ™‚

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

  2. I’m glad you and your family had a good Christmas. I’m really glad you had the time off from all the chaos. Get a bit of breathing space so you can do what you need to do without little ones at your feet.

    I hope your son has a safe journey to Boston and back on his mission to meet Alice’s father. Good to hear your daughter has a job and a goal of getting into better living conditions. Sounds as though things are working their way around to coming together well for you and your family.

    I’m with Lynn on the Christmas traditions. Our kids make their own traditions. Besides we all live so far from each other that it is difficult to wrangle everyone around to just one place.

    Happy New Year to you and Brian. Love you Shelly – Leslie

Leave a Reply

