A Tail of Disco

HI everyone 🙂
Thought I’d share what I got done today while the kids were all gone. I did not get as much done as I wanted but I did get a lunch date with Brian so it was a great trade off. I made a giraffee card for a little boy whose family is from our church who is very sick. He is in Peoria, Illinois at a hospital named Saint Francis JIt is a wondeerful childrens hospital and the doctors there are amazing. Our little Son was there for 9 months with all his health problems and I think had he been taken there when he first started having problems he might be with us still today but I can’t dwell on that. Off the subject…..sorry…. anyway the card is simple and made for a small child and I hope he likes it. the other project was repairing Disco Will’s well loved sock monkey He has been through several surgeries with Will and is a sad looking little monkey but so loved. Heather when she was still home mended his leg and arm adding pink and green cotton balls to the limbs that needed some stuffing. He has several colored threads up and down his seams. His poor ear looks like it is on backwards but I am running out of places to stitch it back together. His limbs are a sight to see with thin areas and fat stuffed areas with his colored stuffing showing through. He was missing his tail for a very long time so it looked like he had a bum hole quite a sight to see which the kids thought it was very funny to say bum 🙂 I found it today and was able to cut some off and reattach it. I had him on Will’s desk waiting on him after school and he was very happy to see him. At bedtime tonight Will says ” Mom I know I’m really to old to sleep with Disco but I just can’t fall asleep without him” I said don’t worry I won’t tell anyone at school besides Jordan slept with his baby blanket til he moved out of our house to go to college. Really he says I dont remember seeing it , I said yup he kept it under his fitted sheet so he could sleep on it. Gotta love my Momma’s boys 🙂  There are other photos but I cant get them to load up. having a terrible headache today 😦   Love to you all

Shelly

4 thoughts on “A Tail of Disco

  1. Sorry Shelly….I thought I had been here to leave a comment 😦

    Patching and reattaching. All well loved stuffed animals have special character because of the all the loving they have had. This makes me think of the Velveteen Rabbit.

    Will is fortunate to have you for a Mom. Jordan can attest to that fact 😀 You made my heart swell with love and pride with this post 😀 What can I say? I’m a softy at the core. You taking the time to fix something important to Will instead of tossing the old thing in the trash. Now you’ve got me tearing up all over again.

    Love you my Friend
    Leslie

    • Thanks for checking in Leslie 🙂 I know you’ve been busy and thought you had maybe started your course on web disign.
      Poor Disco has been so patched up but I think still has many years left in him 🙂 I am a sentimental girl myself and spend much time teary over what may seem to some as silly but Hey thats just me. Now I know I’m in good company with both Lynn and yourself.
      Hugs,
      Shelly

  2. Now that was a labour of love Shelly, repairing the sock monkey and your son being so grateful for it. We all need comfort of some kind no matter how old we are.
    I remember patching and repairing a velvet rabbit for our daughter who is now 37! She was given the rabbit when she was born, handmade by her aunt. A lovely little thing but it became her best comforter and went everywhere, sadly his first started to lose his ears and those were refashioned so many times they looked like blobs of material by the end. He was so threadbare and repaired he hardly resembled anything and it wasn’t until she finally left home in her late teens that poor rabbit was consigned to the bin. One of our younger daughters (25 and mum to two) had a Piglet. Piglet had to share her bed and she told him many secrets, whenever she went on sleepovers or holiday Piglet went too and he still resides next to her bed even now 🙂 Remarkably he is in good repair still!
    Would love to see a picture of the card you made for the child. How lovely for that child to receive a special card and especially good for the parents that they know someone is thinking of them.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    • I will try to get the photo uploaded and the other I finished just having a hard time getting onto the computer with all the kids homework and the small wild one 🙂 keeps me hopping lol
      I think if Disco keeps getting this loved his days of looking like a true monkey will be getting closer. Only thing to save him is Will dont play with him as he used to as he’s gotten older. Awww what a lucky rabbit getting loved like that 🙂
      Jordan still has the blanket .
      Little Thao is still struggling in the hospital and Doctors are thinking of sending him to a hospital in Cincinatti Ohio wh specializes in the problems they think he has. A very frightful time for all his family.
      gotta run to get my kids ready for bed school wake up comes so early.
      Hugs,
      Shelly

Leave a Reply

