The card I made for Leslie’s ribbon use challenge

HI EVERYONE 🙂

 

It is very sunny and warm here again today but it is forecasted to turn colder and maybe a snow shower later this week. Guess we have to have winter some time this winter 🙂  things are slowing down some around here today so I have a bit of time to catch my breath.  I have a few minutes free before the kids get home from school so I thought I’d try to get a post in. I hope you are all enjoying your days and even getting some crafting in. I have three cards to post today they have been in the works for several days now. I had one finished when I seen Leslie’s post of the ribbon challenge and will post it because it has ribbon on it but not a lot.
Here it is I used the fifth avenue floral stamp set from Stampin Up ,black ink  and cardstock and pink passion ink and cardstock pixie pink ink  antique brass brads and a piece of self adhesive ribbon with the I love you on it. I put a bit of dazzling details Stampin Up new glitter glue on the hearts of the ribbon.

The next card is for the challenge but the only gold ribbon I have is 1/8 inch orgundy and was way to big for the hearts so I substituted  gold cord instead.  I used black, real red and white cardstock brushed  red and white cardstock with encore gold pigment ink. I used my big shot machine and cut the big heart with the stampin up embosslet (forgot the name) and used my Martha Stewart  heart punch for the smaller two I then brushed gold ink on the hearts edges and across the embossed dots on the big heart. I hung the hearts with the gold cord. I added the Amour  from  Artful Etchings stamp set  by stampin up. I’m not entirely thrilled with the way this came out but I do feel good about getting the craft time in and that’s what matters.

The Giraffe card is the one  I made for the little boy who is sick from our church.

The last one I put to use Lynn’s Grid technique ( I think that’s what it’s called ) Any way I used low tack painters tape to mask off the card into strips and used different shades of aqua colored ink to make patterned paper and used a roller wheel to put some light images on the lightest colored strip. I sprayed it with my homemade shimmery mist. The base card is a premade Martha Stewart card that has adhesive around the middle which I sprinkled with fine glitter. I had been toying with a small  matchbook  card and attached it to a piece of pink patterned paper that was on my desk. I then cut out some already glittered flowers and attached them to the matchbook front some with dimension and put it all on the card base. I like the way it turned out Its like 2 cards in one. I havent put sentiments on yet but I will have one ready when I think of one. Ok so here it is.

Ok the last photo is not that good but I’m running out of time and this has taken me longer than I thought. 🙂   Take care and I will watch to see what else gets posted.

 

Love to you all,

Shelly

 

 

2 thoughts on “The card I made for Leslie’s ribbon use challenge

  1. Love your cards Shelly. That is a lovely stamp you used for the pink one and very pretty ribbon. The hearts card is fab, love the texture you put on the centre heart.
    So nice to see my grid technique being used and used so differently to good effect.
    I bet that little boy was so pleased to get that cheery giraffe card, he is a very handsome giraffe 🙂

    The weather is supposed to be getting colder here too by the end of the week, it has been relatively mild for the time of year. I dug some plants up for Jill yesterday to plant in her garden and was surprised by how dry the soil still is. We need lots more rain.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

  2. Hello….I finally made it 😀 Shelly, I love the first card you made. That stamp is really gorgeous. A really sophisticated card that would look good in a store. Love it.

    Your hearts card is simply delightful. So playful with the hearts arranged at the corners. Your polka dot embossed one is really delightful 😀

    The last card you put up, the multicolored turquoise stripe one….is really good. The glittered flowers are so sparkly 😀 My sister would be over the moon with that one. Flowers and sparkles 😀

    Your giraffe one is awesome. It is just too cute for words. Your cards have all turned out so good. I’m glad you have had time to get in your crafty corner and play for a while. I hope you do get the time to yourself while the kids are at their other grandparents. Also, some special time with Brian.

    Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

