Thinking of my craft area Re-do

My sweet parents gave me a generous Valentine’s gift this year and I have committed to using it for a new desk so I will have room to play. My area is small and I want to have a desk with a hutch type area moving up the wall to maximize my storage and space. plus I dream of a mounted light over the area and a spot to mount my camera to make tutorials. Now I am on the hunt for some good ideas to put my plan into action. I have in mind a tall revolving shelves to hold my stampin up stamp sets. I want it to have doors as well as the other hutch area so I can mount my ribbon storage and have some artwork displayed. I also want to have some area to showcase some personal knick-knacks which have sentamental value and to pretty up my area. So my goal is to repurpose some of my shelving units and enlist some help to build the rest. Big task to undertake Brian thinks but I have been watching some youtube videos and scanning splitcoaststampers craftroom posts and there are some really awesome ideas using premade shelving and cube units. I was going to unmount my stamp sets but as Brian pointed out then I would need to invest in cling mount and something to store them all in so I figure the money I save on this I can invest in the desk area. I finished my 12×12 paper storage make from cardboard boxes cut down and modpodged some old wallpaper onto them and they look pretty good if I do say so myself. I was able to collect some vintage mason jars a few months back to hold my button collection and a few other small goodies which will look really pretty on a shelf. I am wondering about keeping my 8 1/2×11 paper in the file cabnet or moving it into the same kind as my 12×12. and then there is the 8×8 and 6×6 I have way too much paper but I love it so 🙂 Now that I will have some time to carve out to play I am really looking foward to getting to sit down and get creative. My area will be a sweet reminder of my Mom who always loved my handmade cards and I will get to have them back to display in her honor. I miss her terribly and some days are harder than others but I will move foward and cherish the time we were able to have together and know I will see her again someday, This is said with a glad heart. So I will close so I can chase down the wild ones to get some lunch. I hope this finds you all well.

Love and hugs to you from me 🙂
Shelly

3 thoughts on “Thinking of my craft area Re-do

  1. How exciting Shelly that you are thinking of a craft space make over! I am sure you will have great fun rearranging it all to make it exactly how you would like. We shall need to have photos of course when you finally get it done and then you can show us those storage boxes for your paper/card stock.
    Also to have a spot to display your art work including all the cards you made for your mum will be a lovely idea. Have fun Shelly 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

  2. Your post has touched my heart. I am happy to know that you are planning to craft once again. How exciting to plan your space. It seems you have a design concept and quite a bit of the bones to get things started.

    Your Mom’s parting love to you, before she left your world, is so sweet. Whatever you do in your space your Mom will be there in spirit. A special place for you.

    Shelly. I am so sorry that I was not there for you when your Mom went to the Hospice then later passed away.

    I can’t say that I know what you are going through. Because I don’t. I imagine you check for texts or calls from her since they were a constant worry for you over the past year. I hope you find strength as you plan your special place in honor of your Mom.

    Please know that I love you and am a better person because you are in my life.

    Love you – Leslie

    • Hiya Leslie 🙂
      Sorry it took so long to respond been hectic around here. Please don’t beat yourself up for the time you spent away with your depression. I know you love me and that’s all that counts 🙂 It have some good and bad days but I’m told that’sto be expected. I have been trying to get back into my old routine and Boy oh boy does my house need me back. I have been working on getting it back into shape. Planning my space is a good healing for me because I will be doing something I love and also putting some touches into so I can still be close to my Mom. I am still in the planning stages and need to think creative to maxamize my space so I can clear up some desk space to work. I have been thinking that a hutch like unit could maybe go over my existing desk kinda like those units that go in the bathroom over the toilet. this way I could save the expense of a desk and it would still be kinda hodge podge but I then could put the money on something else for the space.
      Need to run for now.
      Much love to you and many big hugs !!
      Shelly

Leave a Reply

